Skip to product information
1 of 1

BOY FROM CLEARWATER HC (C: 0-1-1) (09/20/2023) LEVINE QUERIDO

BOY FROM CLEARWATER HC (C: 0-1-1) (09/20/2023) LEVINE QUERIDO

Regular price $25.99 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $25.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

BOY FROM CLEARWATER HC (C: 0-1-1)
(W) King, Lin (A) Jian-xin, Chou
LEVINE QUERIDO
StockID: 89242 SKU: JUL231780

For fans of Persepolis; An incredible true story in graphic novel form- that lays bare the tortured and triumphant history of Taiwan- an island claimed and fought over by many countries- through the life story of a man who lived through its most turbulent times. Tsai Kun-lin- an ordinary boy was born in Qingshui- Taichung in 1930s Taiwan. In part 1 Tsai- in concert with the beautiful illustrations of Chou Jian-xin- depicts a carefree childhood despite the Japanese occupation: growing up happily with the company of nursery rhymes and picture books on Qingshui Street. As war emerges Tsai's memories shift to military parades- air raids- and watching others face conscription into the army. It seems no one can escape. After the war- the book-loving teenager tries hard to learn Mandarin and believes he is finally stepping towards a comfortable future- but little does he know- a dark cloud awaits him ahead. Part 2 opens with Illustrations reminiscent of woodcuts showing the soul-crushing experience of Tsai's detention and imprisonment. In his second year at Taichung First Senior High School- Tsai attends a book club hosted by his teacher and is consequently arrested on a false charge of taking part in an 'illegal' assembly. After being tortured- he is sentenced to ten years in prison- deprived of civil rights for seven years- and sent to Green Island for 'reformation'. Lasting until his release in September 1960- Tsai- a victim of the White Terror era spent ten years of his youth in prison on an unjust charge. But he is ready to embrace freedom.

This is a PRESALE. Release date stated in title. Books will ship after release date. Release dates subject to change without notice. We do not guarantee release dates set by publishers.

Items including but not limited to Hardcovers (HC), Trade Paperbacks (TPB/TP), Softcover (SC), Manga, Graphic Novels (GN), box sets are ordered at the time when a customer places an order. They will be shipped after they arrive from the publisher. We do not guarantee ship dates on HC, TPB, SC, GN, Manga or Box Sets. Preorders for these items are not refundable.

This listing uses stock images, images may not have final trade dress. Final art may vary and will have trade dress (logos). Virgin covers will be explicitly stated in the title. If the title does not state that the cover is virgin, it will have logos/trade dress. Industry standard is to provide retailers with images prior to release, these images usually do not contain logos but logos will be on the actual product when it is released.

Books will be in Near Mint (NM) 9.4 or better condition.

Any CGC offerings will ship in approximately 60 - 90 days after the release date. Signed, special or limited edition items usually have later release dates than the initial release. Title may state the release date of the unsigned/non limited item.

No returns or refunds.

Shipping Policy

Refunds Policy

If you have a problem with your item that is damaged or missing please email us.  We can offer a refund or exchange if we have stock.  Refunds will be issued within 5 business days back to the account you paid with Paypal, Credit Cards, Bank Account etc.  Refunds cannot be sent to alternate accounts.

We do not accept returns for any of the following:

No cancellations, returns or refunds on PRESALE items.  Any items sold BEFORE the release dates are considered PRESALE.  We will not refund ratios (IE 1:10, 1:15, 1:20, 1:25, 1:50, 1:100, 1:200, 1:500 or any other type of ratio) for any reason.  We will not refund any other PRESALE books. We place orders based on your orders. If you are ordering presale books we are paying for your books months in advance to secure copies specifically for you and we cannot return them for a refund.  If you are ordering signed books, CGC/CBCS graded items that are preorder, please do allow plenty of time for delivery. 

No Cancellations or refunds if you select our combined shipping option and do not qualify for a free shipment.  Please review our SHIPPING POLICY for more details.  Minimum purchase for free shipping is $100.  Combined shipping orders must total over $100 to qualify for a free shipment. If your order is less than $100 you will be billed for our flat rate shipping - $6.99.

No cancellations on in stock books.  Any in stock books that cannot be shipped immediately due to them being in orders with PRESALE items will not be refunded.  In stock books with no PRESALE items in the order will ship ASAP when the order is ready to fill. 

No refunds or returns on accurately described items.  Books without a stated grade will be offered as NM 9.4 or better with no guarantee of 9.8s.  We use industry standards to grade including Overstreet, CGC and CBCS standards.  Not familiar with grading check out the following references:

CBCS Comic Grading Scale

Overstreet Comic Grading Standards

We will not accept returns or exchanges any book with out a stated grade where they would be NM 9.4 or better books.  We cannot promise 9.8s on every book, that's not realistic.  Printing is imperfect and does not allow for every book to be 9.8. 

Please note that the following defects may be allowed in NM 9.4 as long as there is not an accumulation of defects.

bindery defects like minor to moderate corner tears, white along the edge of the spine, covers that are offset from the pages (common on cardstock covers) - bindery defects may not affect the grade much if at all

printing defects like a slight color rubs on the back covers, small wrinkles in the paper that were present on the paper rolls prior to the books being printed, paper that is "wavy" from the printing process

2 - 3 small color breaking spine dings or minor non color breaking spine dings

 

View full details